jump to navigation

Too much repenting/The Third July 24, 2008

Posted by Jesse in Biblical/Theological Thoughts, The Journal.
trackback

Whoa, what a day. It’s incredibly ironic the places God chooses to use to show us what we’re doing wrong or to have a change of heart about something. Recently I have been listening to sermons suggested by some friends, it’s an awesome way to get fed when your painting (which is what I do for a job) and to find interesting ways to prepare messages. The problem is that I sometimes get so worked up in the messages I’m listening to, that I forget I’m at work! Today for example, I was listening to a man name Matt Chandler, great speaker I highly recommend him, and for six hours I’m listening to this man, really taking in what the Holy Spirit is saying or said through him. I got so worked up that I stop painting and tears start to well up in my eyes! Then I have to repent for not doing what I’m supposed to be doing, PAINTING! I thought it was humorous in a way cause I’m almost literally telling the Holy Spirit to stop working in my heart so I can get back to work. I mean honestly, what if my boss walked in on me praying and repenting to God with a paint brush in my hand? He is a Godly man himself, but even I would say to stop listening to this stuff at work, it’s ridiculous!

At any rate, my heart was confronted to some things that I have been previously processing through. One issue in my life is pride, a pride that I don’t necessarily think I’m better than people, but I can sense this air about me that shouldn’t be there. It wasn’t until Matt said it that I realized what is was. I think I get prideful in admitting to myself that there is nothing wrong with me, that I was sent here to help, encourage, and admonish others. Now I don’t think there is anything wrong with the latter, but how big a crime it is for me to actually think for even a moment that I am above sin! Above other peoples hurt! We’ve all interacted with people that have said this too, and now we know what is wrong with them, pride. It is still something I’m chewing through, however, so I still need time really confront this pride but if you’re going around thinking that your life is perfect and now it’s your turn to help, well you’re wrong! There’s obviously something wrong here! *Preaching mode turned on* If we sit on our butts thinking that the only time we can help the body of Christ or anyone else as well, then we’re wasting away! God doesn’t want to see what you can do in perfect conditions, God wants to see what you can do in crazy times! When we’re given little and have invested in those little things, God will bless with even larger things to care for (Matthew 25:26). Read James for crying out loud, you prideful biggots. Let’s do God’s work even under stress! How much more glorious it will be to see someone’s life change for the better when all you see is darkness in your own life! Let your “self” die, so we can resurrect in Christ and live the life He lived, one of servitude to others! I mean Jesus Himself was still serving even when He was nailed on the cross.

In addition, I’m recently confronted with a little of feeling of “not doing anything.” Here’s what I mean. Ever since the beginning of college, I have had this hunger for God and knowledge. I’m enjoying reading books, talking to people about theology, and actually enjoying being involved in class. No crime here. I love to learn, and I especially love to learn about Scripture, the Bible, and God. However, what the heck am I doing with all this learning? I have just come to realize that I have never actually put my knowledge to practice. All this gaining in theology, text, literature, writing, and for what? So I can know how to read the Bible better? So I can know where the books of the Bible are? I should be taking in what Scriptures are saying! I have to live the life I’m reading about! I’m not evangelizing at all if all I’m doing is sitting there learning! Let me get out there, actually listen to others, love others, and give two craps about their life! !$#!(%R*!*(!%!#_(&!

Now all this is not some crazy new revolution I’ve dawned upon myself. There is still time to process this, chew on it, think it through. I think one of the biggest failures Christians do when hearing or reading a message is take it in, agree/disagree with it, think about what was though provoking, and then do nothing to apply it. Do nothing in their life to make an application for what the speaker had to say. I pray I won’t make that failure today, so give me some time, maybe in the future I’ll blog about what I did to apply these truths in my life. Until then, CIAO!

Comments»

1. Bob Willits - July 26, 2008

You are right.
Matt Chandler Rocks!
I can’t get enough of him and like you, I breakdown at times when I am, listening to him except I do it while driving.

Bob


Leave a Reply

