jump to navigation

The Fourth/Rain July 28, 2008

Posted by Jesse in Randomness, The Journal.
trackback

Phew, what, a, weekend. Sorry I had to keep you, my lovely fans/readers, waiting for a while, but I really couldn’t think of anything to write… At any rate, if you happened to live in Bucks County you may have noticed the crazy thunder storm that had passed this afternoon. It was a spectacular show of sound and light, and just a pleasant reminder of how powerful the Man upstairs really is.

I always enjoy the rain. I think it brings a calming and dramatic atmosphere to the earth. I think rain has a simple and subtle beauty to it, almost like an applause from above. I wish I could slow time down just to watch the rain, like you see in those kung fu movies when something really stellar is about to happen. Rain has many metaphors attached to it; God crying, the cleansing of sins on the earth, God showing his awesome might, and so on.

To me rain is a great time for reflection, thinking, and observing. The blue and gray coloring that sets over the world puts me into a position of deep thought (a scary place for me). So I did take the opportunity today, in silence, to think about the life God wants me to live and what God may or may not have in store for me. The sublime setting rain sets really enables us to sit down in peace and think about things.

I think this is one thing the body of Christ misses, not rain, but taking time in silence and or solitude to really process what is on their hearts and minds. One thing I notice when people come to me or anybody else really for advice, they haven’t really thought through their emotions and thought process. I mean, we all immediately seek help before we know what we need help with. This is even truer or more relevant in prayer. When we speak to God, no one really thinks about what they’re saying, they just say it. Now I know God knows our hearts and our needs, but I think we should take the time to know them as well if we really want to know what our true motives are.

So the next time you think you need, take the time to help yourself. Ask God, pray, for the words you need to express what you are truly feeling. Think about where your motives are going, about where your true heart lies. I’ve heard it said that sometimes we’re just to scared to process what we’re going through. WELL MAN UP AND DO IT ANYWAY! Like I had said earlier, we’re not called to be comfortable, we’re called to live a life in servitude to our Maker and Redeemer.

Comments»

1. pgowesky - July 28, 2008

Silence is definately the unsung hero in 21st century christianity. I agree with you that we are not silent enough. We want everything around us to make some sort of noise and when it doesn’t we are perplexed. This was a great stream of thoughts Jessie.


Leave a Reply

